What type of Government does India have? – Explanation

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)

What type of Government does India have? – Explanation

What type of Government does India have? – Explanation

The structure of the government of India

What type of Government does India have

India is known for being a parliamentary democratic republic. The President of the country of India is considered the Head of State and the Prime Minister has the responsibility of running and administering the federal government smoothly.

The meaning of being a parliamentary democracy is that the executive branch of the Indian government is accountable and works under the legislative branch. India is politically divided into 7 union territories and 29 states.

The structure of the government is divided into three broad branches namely the legislative branch, the executive branch, and the judicial branch.

The exact same structure is further used at the state level also.


  1. The legislative branch of the government
  2. The executive and judicial branch 
  3. Elections and Voting

The legislative branch of the government

What type of Government does India have

The question of “What type of Government does India have?” is clearly explained by the three levels of administrative bodies in India.

The federal legislative branch is made up of a bicameral Parliament that is divided into two houses, that is the House of the People and the Council of States.

Rajya Sabha is the other name for the Council of States and has a limit of up to 250 members as mentioned in the Constitution of India. Currently, there are 245 seats filled up in the Rajya Sabha. The President has the right to appoint 12 members in this council who are experts in various fields like science, social sciences, literature, art or in any other field.

Other members are appointed by the legislative bodies at the territory and state levels of the government.
The House of People, also popularly called the Lok Sabha is the lower house of the legislative branch and has got a constitutional limit of up to 552 members.

The President may appoint two members from the Anglo Indian community if there are no representatives from that community in the Lok Sabha. 

The legislative branch has the responsibility of passing new regulations and laws. However, the judicial branch reviews and approves it before it becomes a law.

The executive and judicial branch

What type of Government does India have

The executive branch has got all the responsibilities of the daily management of the government activities. It comprises of the Council of Ministers elected and appointed by the Prime Minister of India, the President and the Parliament.

The President, with the guidance of the Prime Minister leads the council and appoints the number of seats that includes the Attorney General, state Governors, the Chief Election Commissioner, the Cabinet Secretary and the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court.

The President legally also functions as the commander-in-chief of the Indian military. The judicial branch is very similar to the European countries and works independently.

It is inclusive of the Supreme Court of India, High Courts at the state level as well as the district and sessions Court operating at local levels. 

All the leaders of the Supreme Court are selected by the President of India and these positions are inclusive of the Chief Justice along with 30 associate judges recommended by the Chief Justice himself.

Elections and Voting

What type of Government does India have

What type of Government does India have is dependent on the type of elections held in India?

According to the elections held in India, the country has got a quasi-federal type of government with elected officials at the Union, state and local levels. The system of voting is an electronic one and elections are conducted after every five years to appoint the Prime Minister of India and the governing body.



By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.